Hamilton Police Department of Ohio has quite a few minimum requirements. The most common requirement is an extensive background check. Another requirement is a psychological examination. This is done by a licensed psychologist who specializes in examining police officer candidates. Another exam given is a polygraph examination that encompasses drug usage and criminal behavior. Along with drug usage, a drug screen is conducted by taking a hair sample to test. (Police Officer Application) Specifically, hair follicle tests, because they can detect far back from ninety days to possibly twelve months. (Hair Follicle Testing) A medical examination is done by a licensed physician and an examination for general good health is done. After such actions are taken, recruits are sent to Academy training. Most common Academies with the Hamilton Police Department are; Ohio State Patrol Training Academy, Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy (OPOTA), Butler County Police Academy andButler Tech Peace Officer Training Academy. After successfully completing the training academy, other criteria requires new officers being assigned to Field Training officers for approximately 90 days. The Cincinnati Police Department of Ohio is also a local department with some similar requirements. Age requirement for this department is 21 when you apply. As well almost all departments, there are exams and examinations you must pass. You must pass written exams, a polygraph exam, a two-part behavior assessment, medical exam and background check. Although the exams are important, they are not the only necessities. You must also be a United States citizen, possess a high school diploma or GED, and have a driver’s license for a minimum of one year. (Cincinnati Police Dep.) After these exams and examinations are passed successfully, recruits begin twenty-eight weeks of physical and academic training at the police academy. Following the twenty-eight weeks, six months of field and experience training is required. After completing the training, other criteria are required such as police officers spending their first 18 months (starting with field training) on probation.The Riley County Police Department of Kansas is a department in a different state. This department has an age requirement of 21 at the hire date. You must also pass the “Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) and completion of the department’s PTO” program. Some minimum requirements include being a U.S. citizen, obtaining a High School Diploma or GED, and a Kansas Drivers License. You must also be able to pass the physical agility test, drug test, CVSA, and an extensive background check, along with a good driving record. Other requirement criteria includes “No felony convictions or expunged conviction and, on and after 1 July 1995, has not been placed upon diversion by any state or the federal government for a felony offense or misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or its equivalent under the uniform code of military justice. (KSA’s 74-5605 and 74-5616).” (Group, New Boston)Another department in a different state is the Omaha Police Department of Nebraska. For this department, you must be 21 years old by the end of your training in the Academy. The Omaha Police Department also has its own 24-week Academy. More minimum requirements include being a U.S. citizen, possess a high school diploma or GED, have a driver’s license throughout the process. You must pass all physical exams and medical exams. Convictions such as felony and misdemeanor convictions of domestic violence are not allowed.